Quick Links

HEAL'S LEGAL BEAGLE REFERRAL PAGE

Events

Information Standards

 

If you have been injured or defrauded by the “teen help” industry, you have the right to sue and to press criminal charges where applicable.  Certain official agencies have stated that the “escort services” provided by these programs constitute kidnapping and those providing this type of service may be prosecuted on felony charges for kidnapping.  Contact the FBI to report crimes of kidnapping.  You may also wish to dial "911" in the jurisdiction where the crime occurred to report it or if it occurred at an entity on the active watch-list/enrolled in the COPE Conversion Program (i.e. Arivaca Boys Ranch), a complete reporting guide with local numbers in the proper jurisdiction where the entity is located will be found on the info page for that program.  In the event the information is not so found, e-mail info@heal-online.org and we'll send it to you.

 

 

Below is a by-state menu that will take you to attorneys/legal services in that state that you can call for legal help.  If you or your parents contracted from your home state and were transported to a facility out of state or out of the country but owned by a US corporation, you may sue from your home state.  It is best to consult with your attorney before making any decisions regarding venue.  Each state lists the statute of limitations for that state.  The time generally starts immediately after you or your child’s discharge/release/rescue from the abusive facility.  Or, upon your/your child's 18th birthday, depending on which is latter.  We are with you and support your actions to bring these criminals to justice.  We also support mature minors who wish to file for emancipation before reaching age of majority and list legal help services in each state that can help with that process for those who are ready for independent living.

 

 

If you are an attorney who handles emancipation of minors, institutionalized abuse and fraud cases who would like to be featured on this page, please e-mail us to be added.

 

 

MENU:  ALABAMA, ALASKA, ARIZONA, ARKANSAS, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, CONNECTICUT, DELAWARE, FLORIDA, GEORGIA, HAWAII, IDAHO, ILLINOIS, INDIANA, IOWA, KANSAS, KENTUCKY, LOUISIANA, MAINE, MARYLAND, MASSACHUSETTS, MICHIGAN, MINNESOTA, MISSISSIPPI, MISSOURI, MONTANA, NEBRASKA, NEVADA, NEW HAMPSHIRE, NEW JERSEY, NEW MEXICO, NEW YORK, NORTH CAROLINA, NORTH DAKOTA, OHIO, OKLAHOMA, OREGON, PENNSYLVANIA, RHODE ISLAND, SOUTH CAROLINA, SOUTH DAKOTA, TENNESSEE, TEXAS, UTAH, VERMONT, VIRGINIA, WASHINGTON, WEST VIRGINIA WISCONSIN, WYOMING, INTERSTATE ASSISTANCE  

 

 

 

ALABAMA

Alabama’s statute of limitations is 2 years.

 

You can run a search for "Personal Injury OR Tort Lawyer" for Alabama State Bar Association members here: https://www.alabar.org/for-the-public/need-legal-help/

 

In Alabama, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 19 years of age may file for emancipation at 18 years of age.   You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Alabama for assistance.   You  can also contact Legal Aid of Alabama for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

 

ALASKA

Alaska’s statute of limitations is 2 years.

 

You can run a search for "Personal Injury OR Tort Lawyer" for Alaska State Bar Association members here: https://alaskabar.org/member-services/member-directories/   

 

In Alaska, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Alaska for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Alaska for help filing for emancipation.

 

TOP

 

ARIZONA

Arizona’s statute of limitations is 2 years.

 

You can run a search for "Personal Injury OR Tort Lawyer" for Arizona State Bar Association members here: https://azbar.legalserviceslink.com/ 

 

 

Currently, you may contact the ACLU of Arizona for help.  You may visit there website and click on “intake” to submit a description of your case or contact them at:

 

American Civil Liberties Union of Arizona
Executive Director: Eleanor Eisenberg
P.O. Box 17148
Phoenix, AZ 85011-0148
Phone: 602-650-1967

 

 

Sara Powell has experience representing families and victims of the teen "help" industry. 

Law Office of Sara J. Powell

550 W. Portland St.

Phoenix, AZ 85003

602-996-4447

 

In Arizona, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Arizona for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Arizona for help filing for emancipation.

If you are an attorney practicing in Arizona who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

ARKANSAS

Arkansas’ statute of limitations depends on the type of case; it ranges from 1-3 years. 

 

 

You can run a search for "Personal Injury OR Tort Lawyer" for the Arkansas State Bar Association members here: https://mx.arkbar.com/ARKANSASFINDALAWYER.aspx 

 

 

Currently, you may contact the ACLU of Arkansas for help.  They do not have a website at this time.  However, you may contact them directly at:

 

ACLU of Arkansas

Executive Director: Rita Sklar
904 W. Second Street, Suite 1
Little Rock, AR 72201
Phone: 501-374-2660

 

In Arkansas, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Arkansas for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Arkansas for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Arkansas who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

CALIFORNIA

The statute of limitations in California is 2 years.

 

 

California State Bar Association: http://www.calbar.ca.gov/Public/Need-Legal-Help  

 

 

Contact the ACLU of California for assistance.  The information for “intake procedures” is:

 

How to file a complaint with the ACLU of Northern California:

Intake Procedure

1.  You can call our complaint line. Callers can reach the complaint line Monday through Friday from 10 a.m. until 3 p.m. at (415) 621-2488. Volunteer counselors staff the ACLU complaint desk. They are not lawyers but are trained to pre-screen intakes. They cannot give legal advice to you, nor can they refer you to an individual private attorney. They can, however, bring your complaint to the attention of an attorney for review, or give you an appropriate referral to another agency.  You can write to us. The ACLU also accepts written letters as intakes. Please do not send documents, and try to limit letters to one page. If we need more information, we will contact you. The address is:

Intake
ACLU of Northern California
1663 Mission Street, Suite #406
San Francisco, CA 94103

Walk-ins are not seen; they are asked to call the complaint line or write to us. 
If you do not live in Northern California, you may contact the office above and ask for referral information for an office closer to you. If you are an attorney practicing in California who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

 

 

In California, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 14 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in California for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of California for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

 

TOP

 

COLORADO

The statute of limitations in Colorado is 2 years.

 

Colorado State Bar Association: https://www.cobar.org/Find-A-Lawyer 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Colorado for legal assistance.  Visit: http://www.aclu-co.org/aboutaclu/intake2.htm for directions on submitting your case for help.

 

 

In Colorado, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 21 years of age may be granted emancipation if parents have consented to their marriage or military service at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Colorado for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Colorado for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Colorado who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

CONNECTICUT

The statute of limitations in Connecticut is 2 years.

 

Connecticut State Bar Association: https://members.ctbar.org/search/custom.asp?id=2968 

 

 

In Connecticut, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Connecticut for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Connecticut for help filing for emancipation.

 

Currently, we do not have any legal references for Connecticut.  If you are an attorney practicing in Connecticut who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

DELAWARE

The statute of limitations in Delaware is 2 years.

 

 

Delaware State Bar Association: https://www.dsba.org/resources/attorney-search/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Delaware for legal assistance.  Visit: http://www.aclu-de.org/intake.htm  to submit your case for assistance.

 

In Delaware, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Delaware for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Delaware for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Delaware who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

FLORIDA

The statute of limitations in Florida is 4 years.

 

Florida State Bar Association: https://www.floridabar.org/public/lrs/ 

 

 

In Florida, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Florida for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Florida for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

Currently, we do not have any legal references for Florida.  If you are an attorney practicing in Florida who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

GEORGIA

The statute of limitations in Georgia is 2 years.

 

 

Georgia State Bar Association: https://www.gabar.org/forthepublic/findalawyer.cfm 

 

 

Gorby, Reeves, & Peters P.C., Attorneys at Law

Two Ravinia Drive
Suite 1500
Atlanta, GA 30346-2104
Office: (404) 239-1150
Fax (404) 239-1179 info@gorbyreeves.com

http://www.bergermontague.com/case-summary.cfm?id=155

 

 

Randy Rogers

ROGERS & STRIMBAN, LLC

244 Roswell Street

Suite 400

Marietta, GA 30060

(770) 590-0300

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Georgia per their intake requirements below:

Mail, fax or email your request for legal assistance or legal advice to the ACLU of Georgia office.

Mailing Address: 

ACLU of Georgia
70 Fairlie Street, Suite 340
Atlanta, GA 30303

Fax:  (404) 577-0181

Email Address: info@acluga.org


Guidelines

  • Only incidents that occurred in Georgia will be accepted.

  • Please keep intake brief and to the point. (NO MORE THAN 2-3 PAGES).

  • Do Not Send original documents. Materials will not be returned.

  • Please include your name complete mailing address and telephone number.

Once intake request are received, it will than be reviewed by staff, interns, volunteers or law clerks.

We review the request for the possibility of potential cases.

 

HELPFUL LINKS FOR—GA

 

http://www.legalaid-ga.org/GA/index.cfm

 

 

In Georgia, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may be granted  emancipation at unspecified age if married or joined the military.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Georgia for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Georgia for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Georgia who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

HAWAII

The statute of limitations in Hawaii is 2 years.

 

Hawaii State Bar Association:

 https://hsba.org/HSBA/FOR_THE_PUBLIC/Find_a_Lawyer/HSBA/For_the_Public_/Find%20a%20Lawyer.aspx 

 

 

In Hawaii, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may be granted  emancipation at unspecified age if married or joined the military.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Hawaii for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Hawaii for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

Currently, we do not have references for legal assistance in Hawaii.  If you are an attorney practicing in Hawaii who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

IDAHO

The statute of limitations in Idaho is 2 years.

 

Idaho State Bar Association: https://isb.idaho.gov/lawyer-referral-service/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Idaho for legal assistance at:

 

ACLU of Idaho
P.O. Box 1897
Boise, Idaho 83701
Phone: (208)
 344-9750
Fax: (208) 344-7201
e-mail:
public@acluidaho.org

 

 

In Idaho, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may be granted  emancipation at unspecified age if married or joined the military.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Idaho for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Idaho for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Idaho who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

ILLINOIS

The statute of limitations in Illinois is 2 years.

 

Illinois State Bar Association: https://www.isba.org/public/illinoislawyerfinder 

 

 

Nessler & Associates, Ltd.

536 North Bruns Lane, Suite 1
Springfield, IL 62702
Tel: (217) 718-4248

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Illinois for assistance by following their directions below:

 

The ACLU of Illinois' Intake Department is open from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., Tuesday-Thursday. During those hours an intake counselor is available if you wish to explain your problem. Our counselors are dedicated volunteers, but they are not lawyers and cannot give you legal advice, but will simply obtain the facts pertaining to your problem. Depending on the nature of your problem, the counselor may give you an appropriate referral or present the facts of your case to a staff attorney for review.

Contacting the ACLU to describe your problem will not guarantee the ACLU will represent you. Due to the enormous demand for representation and our limited resources, the ACLU cannot represent everyone who has a valid legal claim. Every decision regarding representation must meet specific guidelines and requires special approval.

The Intake Department can be reached:

By Phone:

(312) 201-9740
(800) 572-1092 (inside Illinois only)

By Fax:

(312) 201-9759

By Post:

ACLU of Illinois
180 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 2300
Chicago, IL 60601

 

 

In Illinois, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Illinois for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Illinois for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Illinois who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

INDIANA

The statute of limitations in Indiana is 2 years.

 

Indiana State Bar Association: https://www.inbar.org/search/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Indiana for assistance by visiting: http://www.iclu.org/legal/complaint.asp

 

 

In Indiana, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 14 years of age (unspecified but arguable based on state laws).  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Indiana for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Indiana for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Indiana who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

IOWA

The statute of limitations in Iowa is 2 years.

 

Iowa State Bar Association: https://www.iowabar.org/search/  (Tort or Personal Injury Lawyer)

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Iowa for assistance by visiting: http://www.iowaclu.org/legal/assistance.asp

 

 

In Iowa, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may be granted  emancipation at unspecified age if married or joined the military.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Iowa for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Iowa for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Iowa who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

KANSAS

The statute of limitations in Kansas is 2 years.

 

Kansas State Bar Association: https://www.ksbar.org/page/LRS_Public 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Kansas for assistance.  The ACLU of Kansas only accepts complaints by mail. Download a complaint form, or call the complaint line at 816-931-2110.

 

 

In Kansas, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 14 years of age (unspecified but arguable based on state laws).  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Kansas for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Kansas for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Kansas who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

KENTUCKY

The statute of limitations in Kentucky is 1 year.

 

Kentucky State Bar Association: https://www.kybar.org/search/custom.asp?id=2947 

 

 

In Kentucky, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 15 years of age (unspecified but arguable based on state laws).  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Kentucky for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Kentucky for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

Currently, we do not have references for legal assistance in Kentucky.  If you are an attorney practicing in Kentucky who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

LOUISIANA

The statute of limitations in Louisiana is 1 year.

 

Louisiana State Bar Association: https://www.lsba.org/Public/MembershipDirectory.aspx 

 

 

In Louisiana, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 15 years of age with parental consent and at age 16 without parental consent.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Louisiana for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Louisiana for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

Currently, we do not have references for legal assistance in Louisiana.  If you are an attorney practicing in Louisiana who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

MAINE

The statute of limitations in Maine is 6 years.

 

Maine State Bar Association: https://www.mainebar.org/page/AttorneyRequest 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Maine for legal assistance by visiting:

http://www.mclu.org/Programs/Legal/OnlineComplaintForm.htm

 

 

In Maine, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Maine for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Maine for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Maine who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

 

MARYLAND

The statute of limitations in Maryland is 3 years.

 

Maryland State Bar Association: https://www.msba.org/for-the-public/lawyer-referral-information/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Maryland for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclu-md.org/page.asp?page=help

 

 

In Maine, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may be granted  emancipation at unspecified age if married or joined the military.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Maryland for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Maryland for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Maryland who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

MASSACHUSETTS

The statute of limitations in Massachusetts is 3 years.

 

Massachusetts State Bar Association: https://www.massbar.org/public/lawyer-referral-service 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Massachusetts for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclu-mass.org/legal/have_your_rights_been_violated.html

 

 

In Massachusetts, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age determined on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Massachusetts for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Massachusetts for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Massachusetts who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

MICHIGAN

The statute of limitations in Michigan is 3 years.

 

Michigan State Bar Association: http://lrs.michbar.org/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Michigan for legal assistance by visiting:

 http://www.aclumich.org/modules.php?name=Complaint_Form         

 

 

In Michigan, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Michigan for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Michigan for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Michigan who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

MINNESOTA

The statute of limitations in Minnesota is 2 years.

 

 

Minnesota State Bar Association: https://www.mnbar.org/member-directory/find-a-lawyer

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Minnesota for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclu-mn.org/Intake_Form.html

 

 

In Minnesota, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age determined on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Minnesota for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Minnesota for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Minnesota who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

MISSISSIPPI

The statute of limitations in Mississippi is 3 years.

 

 

Mississippi State Bar Association: https://www.msbar.org/for-the-public/how-to-select-a-lawyer/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Mississippi for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.msaclu.org/intake.html

 

You may also contact the following attorney(s):

 

Michael C. Barefield, MS Bar No. 8322

Barefield Law Firm, PLLC

1321 21st Avenue

P. O. Box 309

Gulfport, MS 39502-0309

Local counsel for Plaintiffs

Telephone: (228) 575-9552

Facsimile: (228) 214-4186

Email: mcb@barefieldlawfirm.com

 

 

In Mississippi, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 21 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age determined on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Mississippi for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Mississippi for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Mississippi who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

MISSOURI

The statute of limitations in Missouri is 5 years.

 

Missouri State Bar Association appears to be corrupt.  Their website doesn't work and alternative websites claiming to be the State bar also are only for seminars for lawyers, apparently.  So, you may be better off running a search for "Personal Injury or Tort Lawyer Missouri" on www.google.com.  (To be fair, they appear to have regional bar associatons and that is unusual, but, for the "Show Me" state, they don't offer an easy way to find what you are looking for and may need to update their state motto.)

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Missouri for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclu-em.org/takeaction/filecomplaint/

 

 

In Missouri, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age if married or joined the military and determined on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Missouri for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Missouri for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Missouri who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

MONTANA

The statute of limitations in Montana is 3 years.

 

Montana State Bar Association: http://205.209.45.153/iabar/AttorneyOnLineMontana.nsf/srch?OpenForm 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Montana for legal assistance by visiting:

 http://www.aclumontana.org/LegalProgram/ComplaintForm.htm

 

In Montana, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Montana for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Montana for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Montana who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

NEBRASKA

The statute of limitations in Nebraska is 4 years.

 

Nebraska State Bar Association: https://www.nebar.com/search/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Nebraska for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclunebraska.org/Complaint_Form.pdf

 

 

In Nebraska, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 19 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on a case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Nebraska for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Nebraska for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Nebraska who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

NEVADA

The statute of limitations in Nevada is 2 years.

 

Nevada State Bar Association: https://www.nvbar.org/find-a-lawyer/ 

 

Nursing Home Justice Center

10001 Park Run Drive
Las Vegas, NV 89145

Call:
(702) 385-HELP or
(888) 965-ABUSE

http://www.nursinghomejusticecenter.com/TreatmentCenterAbuse.aspx

 

You may contact the ACLU of Nevada for legal assistance by visiting:  http://www.aclunv.org/contact-information

 

 

In Nevada, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Nevada for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Nevada for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Nevada who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

NEW HAMPSHIRE

The statute of limitations in New Hampshire is 3 years.

 

New Hampshire State Bar Association: https://www.nhbar.org/lawyer-referral-service 

 

 

In New Hampshire, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on a case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in New Hampshire for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of New Hampshire for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

Currently, we do not have references for legal assistance in New Hampshire.  If you are an attorney practicing in New Hampshire who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

NEW JERSEY

The statute of limitations in New Jersey is 2 years.

 

New Jersey State Bar Association:

 https://tcms.njsba.com/PersonifyEbusiness/LegalResources/CountyBarAssociations.aspx 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of NJ for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclu-nj.org/legal/fileacomplaint/

 

 

In New Jersey, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on a case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in New Jersey for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of New Jersey for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in New Jersey who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

NEW MEXICO

The statute of limitations in New Mexico is 3 years.

 

New Mexico State Bar Association:

 https://www.nmbar.org/Nmstatebar/For_Public/Need_Lawyer.aspx 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of NM for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclu-nm.org/legal/complaint.htm

 

 

In New Mexico, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in New Mexico for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of New Mexico for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in New Mexico who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

NEW YORK

The statute of limitations in New York is 3 years.

 

New York State Bar Association: http://www.nysba.org/CustomTemplates/SecondaryStandard.aspx?id=28076 

 

 

Maxine Susseles, Esq.

P.O. Box 720

Hartsdale, N.Y. 10530

(914) 686-0044

(914) 948-1750

 

You may contact the ACLU of NY for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.nyclu.org/email_nyclu.html

 

 

In New York, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in New York for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of New York for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in New York who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

NORTH CAROLINA

The statute of limitations in North Carolina is 3 years.

 

North Carolina State Bar Association: https://www.ncbar.gov/for-the-public/finding-a-lawyer/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of NC for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.acluofnorthcarolina.org/casecriteria.html

 

HELPFUL LINKS FOR HELP IN NC—

 

http://www.ncbar.org/public/proBonoPublicService/index.aspx


http://www.nccu.edu/law/student/probono.html

 

 

In North Carolina, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in North Carolina for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of North Carolina for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in North Carolina who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

NORTH DAKOTA

The statute of limitations in North Dakota is 6 years.

 

North Dakota State Bar Association: https://www.sband.org/page/FindaLawyer 

 

 

In North Dakota, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in North Dakota for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of North Dakota for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

 

Currently, we do not have references for legal assistance in North Dakota.  If you are an attorney practicing in North Dakota who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

OHIO

The statute of limitations in Ohio is 2 years.

 

Ohio State Bar Association: https://www.ohiobar.org/LegalHelp/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Ohio for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.acluohio.org/about/need_legal_assistance.htm

 

 

In Ohio, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Ohio for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Ohio for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Ohio who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

OKLAHOMA

The statute of limitations in Oklahoma is 2 years.

 

Oklahoma State Bar Association: https://www.okbar.org/findalawyer/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of OK for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.acluok.org/GetHelp/ComplaintForm.htm

 

 

In Oklahoma, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Oklahoma for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Oklahoma for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Oklahoma who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

OREGON

The statute of limitations in Oregon is 2 years.

 

Oregon State Bar Association: https://www.osbar.org/public/ris/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of OR for legal assistance by visiting: https://secure.aclu.org/site/SPageNavigator/OR_LegalAssistance

 

 

In Oregon, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Oregon for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Oregon for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Oregon who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

PENNSYLVANIA

The statute of limitations in Pennsylvania is 2 years.

 

Pennsylvania State Bar Association: http://www.pabar.org/site/For-the-Public/Find-a-Lawyer 

 

 

Berger & Montague, P.C.
1622 Locust Street
Philadelphia, PA 19103
Telephone: 1-800-424-6690
Facsimile: 215-875-4604

 

Berger & Montague are representing multiple survivors and families in a class action against Hidden Lake Academy.

 

You may contact the ACLU of PA for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclupa.org/legal/fileacomplaint.htm
 

 

In Pennsylvania, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Pennsylvania for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Pennsylvania for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Pennsylvania who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

RHODE ISLAND

The statute of limitations in Rhode Island is 3 years.

 

 

Rhode Island State Bar Association:

 https://www.ribar.com/For%20the%20Public/FindingAndChoosingALawyer.aspx 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of RI for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.riaclu.org/complaints.html

 

 

In Rhode Island, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Rhode Island for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Rhode Island for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Rhode Island who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

SOUTH CAROLINA

The statute of limitations in South Carolina is 3 years.

 

South Carolina State Bar Association: https://www.scbar.org/public/get-legal-help/find-lawyer-or-mediator/find-a-lawyer/  

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of SC for legal assistance by following their directions below:

 

Legal Assistance

If you are requesting legal assistance or ACLU involvement in a legal matter, please submit your initial request in writing, explaining briefly what rights violation(s), civil liberties issue(s), or constitutional question(s) you believe to be central to your case.  To expedite the consideration of your case, we recommend that you use our Legal Assistance Request Form on which to submit your request.  Please include your complete name and mailing address, and submit your request to one of the following:

·         E-mail:  Request Legal Assistance Request Form

·         E-mail:  Request for Legal Assistance

·         Postal mail:

ACLU of South Carolina
Suite 800, Barringer Building
1338 Main Street
Columbia, SC  29201

·         Facsimile:  (803) 254-7374

 

South Carolina State Bar Members Who Take Pro Bono Cases:

http://www.scbar.org/member/probono.asp

 

 

In South Carolina, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in South Carolina for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of South Carolina for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in South Carolina who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

SOUTH DAKOTA

The statute of limitations in South Dakota is 3 years.

 

South Dakota State Bar Association: http://www.statebarofsouthdakota.com/page/lawyer-referral 

 

 

In South Dakota, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in South Dakota for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of South Dakota for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

Currently, we do not have legal references for South Dakota.  If you are an attorney practicing in South Dakota who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TENNESSEE

The statute of limitations in Tennessee is 1 year.

 

Tennessee State Bar Association: http://www.tba.org/info/find-an-attorney 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of TN for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclu-tn.org/advocacy.html

 

 

In Tennessee, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at unspecified age on case by case basis.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Tennessee for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Tennessee for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Tennessee who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TEXAS

The statute of limitations in Texas is 2 years.

 

Texas State Bar Association: https://www.texasbar.com/AM/Template.cfm?Section=Find_A_Lawyer&Template=/CustomSource/MemberDirectory/Search_Form_Client_Main.cfm 

 

 

Charles H. Peckham

Peckham, PLLC

Two Bering Park

800 Bering Drive, Suite 220

Houston, Texas  77057

(713) 574-9044 – office

(713) 493-2255- fax

cpeckham@peckhampllc.com

www.peckhampllc.com

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of TX for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclutx.org/legal/criteria.htm

 

HELPFUL LINKS—TX

 

http://www.texasatj.org/LegalServicesandOth10DA2/index.asp

 

 

In Texas, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Texas for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Texas for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Texas who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

UTAH

The statute of limitations in Utah is 4 years.

 

Utah State Bar Association: http://www.utahbar.org/public-services/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of UT for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.acluutah.org/rights.htm

 

You may also contact the following attorney(s):

 

 

Steven C. Russell

Westgate Business Center

180 South 300 West, Suite 170

Salt Lake City, UT 84101

(801)532-5100

 

 

In Utah, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Utah for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Utah for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Utah who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

VERMONT

The statute of limitations in Vermont is 3 years.

 

Vermont State Bar Association: https://www.vtbar.org/FOR%20THE%20PUBLIC/Find%20a%20Lawyer/Lawyer%20Referral%20Service%20Information.aspx 

 

 

In Vermont, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Vermont for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Vermont for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Vermont who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

VIRGINIA

The statute of limitations in Virginia is 2 years.

 

Virginia State Bar Association: http://www.vsb.org/site/main/public-resources 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of VA for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.acluva.org/pages/requesthelp.html

 

 

In Virginia, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Virginia for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Virginia for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Virginia who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

Helpful Links—VA


http://www.fairfaxbar.org/probono.asp

 

WASHINGTON

The statute of limitations in Washington is 3 years.

 

Washington State Bar Association: https://www.wsba.org/for-the-public/find-legal-help 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of WA for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclu-wa.org/Legal/help.html

 

 

In Washington, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Washington for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Washington for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Washington who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

WEST VIRGINIA

The statute of limitations in West Virginia is 2 years.

 

West Virginia State Bar Association: https://wvbar.org/members/lrs-application/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of WV for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclu-wv.org/legalprogram/questionnaire.htm

 

 

In West Virginia, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 16 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in West Virginia for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of West Virginia for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in West Virginia who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

WISCONSIN

The statute of limitations in Wisconsin is 3 years.

 

 

Wisconsin State Bar Association: https://www.wisbar.org/forPublic/INeedaLawyer/Pages/i-need-a-lawyer.aspx 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Wisconsin for legal assistance by visiting: http://www.aclu-wi.org/legal/index.shtml

 

 

In Wisconsin, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may be granted emancipation by marriage, active military service, and only if not deemed incompetent by the court.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Wisconsin for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Wisconsin for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Wisconsin who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

WYOMING

The statute of limitations in Wyoming is 4 years.

 

 

Wyoming State Bar Association: https://www.wyomingbar.org/for-the-public/hire-a-lawyer/ 

 

 

You may contact the ACLU of Wyoming for legal assistance at:

 

ACLU of Wyoming
P.O. Box 20706
Cheyenne, WY 82003

 

 

In Wyoming, youth who have not reached the state's age of majority of 18 years of age may file for emancipation at 17 years of age.  You may wish to consult a family law attorney in Wyoming for assistance.  You can also contact Legal Aid of Wyoming for help filing for emancipation.

 

 

If you are an attorney practicing in Wyoming who would be interested in representing victims of the “teen help” industry, please e-mail us and we will list you here.

 

TOP

 

INTERSTATE ASSISTANCE LINKS 

 

http://www.searac.org/probono_legal.html

http://www.justicedenied.org/probono.htm

http://www.ptla.org/ptlasite/links/probono.htm

http://www.selfhelpsupport.org/index.cfm

 

http://www.abanet.org/legalservices/probono/home.html

 

http://www.findalawyer.com

Search the HEAL Website

(Search Includes External Links To Sites Not Affiliated with HEAL)

 

History & Inspiration

HEAL Forum

Activist Handbook

About Angela Smith

Donate

Contact Us!

FAQs

Campaigns

Teen Liberty Links

Teen Liberty Agenda

Teen Rights
Program Watchlist
Emancipation Guide
Warning Signs
Harassment
Importance of Acceptance
COPE Conversion Program
COPE Enrollment Agreement
Prison Reform Links
Prison Penpals
Human Rights Links
Human Rights Agenda
Environmental Links
Environmental Agenda
Animal Welfare Links
Animal Welfare Agenda